Close ☰
Menu ☰


7th January, 2014

New Year’s Honours at King’s College London

King’s staff and alumni have been recognised in the 2014 New Year’s Honours list.

The Rt Hon Sir Christopher Geidt, KCVO, OBE is an alumnus and Fellow of King’s College London and has been appointed Knight Commander of the Order of the Bath (KCB) for public service. Sir Christopher is private secretary to the Queen and a Member of the Privy Council.

Since his appointment as Private Secretary to the Sovereign in 2007, Sir Christopher has brought a new approach to constitutional matters, the preparation for transition to a change of Reign and relations with the Commonwealth as the main channel of communication between the Queen and the Government. He has also overseen a unique agenda of Royal and National events.

Dr Joanna Newman, who will take up the post of Vice Principal (International) at King’s on 1 March, has received an MBE For services to promoting British higher education internationally, particularly in Brazil. Dr Newman has been Director of the UK Higher Education International Unit at Universities UK (UUK) since March 2011 and, in her role at King’s, will have responsibility for leading on, and promoting, all international matters internally and externally.

Professor Stephen Scott, Director of the National Academy for Parenting Research and Professor of Child Health and Behaviour at the Institute of Psychiatry, was awarded a CBE for services to families. Professor Scott’s research has focused on the improvement of parenting in order to enhance child outcomes. Professor Scott is Director of the National Adoption and Fostering Team and of the National Conduct Problems Team at Maudsley Hospital.

Linda Dolores Cardozo, Professor of Urogynaecology in the department of Women’s Health and Consultant Gynaecologist at King’s College Hospital, has been awarded an OBE for services to Urogynaecology and Women’s Health. Professor Cardozo was Founding Chairman of the British Society of Urogynaecology and has held various other senior positions including Chairman of the British Menopause Society and the Education Committee of the International Continence Society. She is currently Co-Chairman of the World Health Organisation International Consultation on Incontinence.

Ken Applebee, Director of Biological Services, has received an OBE for services to Animal Technician Education and Animal Technology. Ken is chairman of the Council of the Institute for Animal Technology and a member of the Council of Understanding Animal Research and the Animals in Science Committee which provides advice to the Government on animal research.

Professor Peter Sonksen, Emeritus Professor of Endocrinology, was awarded an OBE for services to anti-doping in sports. Professor Sonksen was a member of the International Olympic Committee and its Medical Sub-Commission on ‘Doping and Biochemistry in Sport’ (1993–2003) and has also been involved in developing a test for the detection of Growth Hormone abuse in sport.

Dr Robin Eady, Emeritus Professor of Dermatology at the St John’s Institute of Dermatology, has been awarded an MBE for services to dermatology and voluntary service to governance in the charitable sector.

Tony Kemp, EdD student in the department of Education and Professional Studies, was awarded an MBE for services to Pre-hospital Emergency Care. Tony is Vice Chairman of the British Association for Immediate Care (BASICS) and a member of the Millwall FC crowd medical team. His voluntary involvement with Pre-hospital Care extends over 30 years.

For further information about King’s visit the ‘King’s in Brief’ page.

Refine Results

  • Select date range (from/to)

Other Recent News


You've been waiting for it and our May newsletter is here! ->

in association with